Dunnar

World Cup 2018

19 posts in this topic

The US lost ... and failed to qualify.

Since my team lost, the next logical step would be to side with Wolph and root for the Dutch.  However, the Dutch also lost ... and failed to qualify.

With the biggest sporting event in the world coming up, I am now a free agent and I'm looking for a team to root for.  I could go with my family roots and support for Germany.  Not sure why, but it doesn't feel right.  Maybe a WW2 thing, don't know.  I could go with folks here and support England ... although I don't get the sense Jazz or Pas get into it.

The Americans losing and failing to qualify is a complete joke.  Everyone involved should be ashamed of themselves.  Hell, I'm ashamed.  The billion dollar MLS investment doesn't seem to be working out.  With the amount of resources that has poured into the sport ... and they lose to an island nation that is roughly the size of Rhode Island with a population less than Nashville.

Link

2. The most embarrassing performance in U.S. history?

No doubt, yes.

Heading into the match, everything was lining up for the U.S. to qualify; only a massive collapse would prevent qualification. A win would clinch the third and final qualification spot, while the colossal U.S. advantage in goal differential over Panama (seven) and Honduras (12) meant a tie would almost certainly do the trick.

Only a loss and an outright win by either the Canaleros or the Catrachos could knock the U.S. out of third place. T&T, meanwhile, was already eliminated, with manager Dennis Lawrence opting mostly for younger players in a bid to build for the future.

Yet the U.S. somehow contrived to blow this opportunity. Yes, the Americans have suffered humbling defeats before. Heck, the 1980s were littered with them. But this defeat stands alone.