• 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Lasraik

Does your life total go into the negative?

Question

To clarify let me set up the scenario.  Two players left (from a multiplayer game).  Player 1 has 3 Platinum Angels 

228.jpg

 

Player 2 has a few Angels of her own and True Conviction

25.jpg

They both have about 30 cards left in their deck.  Player 2 keeps hitting player 1 with their flying creatures for about 60 health each time with the help of True Conviction.  Player 2 doesn't have any way to remove all three of the Platinum Angels.

Player 1 is basically sitting and waiting until they both run out of cards in their library because she can't lose so she is just taking the damage.  Does Player 1 go into negative life or does she stay at 0?  I know in this scenario it doesn't really matter but if Player 1 had a way to start gaining life would she go into positive or have to dig out of the hole that Player 2 put her in before her life went into the positive again?  

Hope this makes sense

King of Jank likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 answers to this question

  • 0

Your life total can go negative. It doesn't stop at zero. And gaining life would start at whatever negative life you are at.

Some side notes:
You can't keep paying life past 0, you can only pay life for a cost until 0.
Death Shadow can't become bigger after 0 life. It use to be able to, but a rule change recently stopped that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
8 minutes ago, King of Jank said:

Your life total can go negative. It doesn't stop at zero. And gaining life would start at whatever negative life you are at.

Some side notes:
You can't keep paying life past 0, you can only pay life for a cost until 0.
Death Shadow can't become bigger after 0 life. It use to be able to, but a rule change recently stopped that.

So let's say Player 1 has 5 life and Player 2 hit her for 60 damage.  Would Player 1 then have -55 life?

King of Jank likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Gatherer says this on the Platinum Angel:

10/1/2009 No game effect can cause you to lose the game or cause any opponent to win the game while you control Platinum Angel. It doesn’t matter whether you have 0 or less life, you’re forced to draw a card while your library is empty, you have ten or more poison counters, you’re dealt combat damage by Phage the Untouchable, your opponent has Mortal Combat with twenty or more creature cards in his or her graveyard, or so on. You keep playing.

Since it says "less life" I would say that you can go negative life. Just the state based action of checking for life at zero or less is ignored.

Lasraik and teh_chris like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0