• 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Lasraik

Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon, Necroskitter and sweepers

Question

Question about Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon and sweepers that happened last weekend with my playgroup.  Let's make this as easy as possible as an example:

Player 1 has Skithirynx and Necroskitter on the field

79.jpg38.jpg

Player 2 has 5 3/3 token creatures and 2 of them have -1/-1 counters.

On their turn, Player 2 casts Languish.

114.jpg

Since all creatures die, does Player 1 still take control of the 2 token creatures with -1/-1 counters?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

  • 1
13 hours ago, AlbyMTG said:

He would if they were actual cards and not tokens.  Since they are tokens, as soon as they are put in the graveyard, they are instantly removed from play.  The trigger from Necroskitter would still happen, but it just wouldn't get anything from the triggers.

Yup. The tokens are exiled as per state-based actions before the ability resolves.

9 hours ago, Lasraik said:

So if they were 3/3 creatures (any creature) with -1/-1 counters everything else would be gone but Player 1 would get the two 3/3's?


Player 1 would get 2 brand new 3/3s assuming they were non-token creatures controlled by Player 2, yes.

Lasraik and AlbyMTG like this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1
4 hours ago, teh_chris said:

Yup. The tokens are exiled as per state-based actions before the ability resolves.


Player 1 would get 2 brand new 3/3s assuming they were non-token creatures controlled by Player 2, yes.

OGW Kalitas works the same way- it "sees" other creatures dying even as it is getting killed by a sweeper

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, AlbyMTG said:

He would if they were actual cards and not tokens.  Since they are tokens, as soon as they are put in the graveyard, they are instantly removed from play.  The trigger from Necroskitter would still happen, but it just wouldn't get anything from the triggers.

So if they were 3/3 creatures (any creature) with -1/-1 counters everything else would be gone but Player 1 would get the two 3/3's?

teh_chris likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0