Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Elovia

Grim Dawn

58 posts in this topic

There are certain game types I enjoy playing, and ARPGs are one.  I probably spent too much time back in the late '90s and early 2000s with Blizzard's Diablo, Diablo II, and all variants thereof.  I've posted here (or at least on the old forums) various other (more recent) ARPGs that caught my attention.  More recently, I've been looking at Grim Dawn (over at GoG, naturally) and thought I'd throw it out to all of you for consideration.  Has anyone played it or have experience with it?  Is it fun?  Or does it become a slog-fest farming operation just to acquire decent goods?

I read a lot of comparisons of it to Titan's Quest - a game I don't own or have played except for a brief demo prior to its release - so I have no personal knowledge as basis of comparison.  I remember the TQ demo, which really didn't knock my socks off and which (at the time) I considered a cheap knock off "me too" title trying to enter the ARPG venue.  Maybe it got better ... dunno.

/discuss  B)

So I took the plunge and purchased it, then spent the day yesterday downloading and playing it.  Around 1:30am, I forced myself away and to bed.  I purchased it for several reasons:  1) it is a relatively new release, 2) it was on sale for ~$20 (US), 3) it is an ARPG which is a genre I generally like, and 4) online reviews (note; self-select bias) seemed to be highly favorable.