Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JudgesFamiliar

Need help with a Midnight Gond Combo

4 posts in this topic

Hey y'all, 

I'm new to MTG, and I am trying to get a reasonably priced deck together for FNM to play in a casual tournament with my girlfriend. I am supping up a pauper combo deck with a few modern staples and a legacy tutor(Casual at my FNM is not strictly modern as long as you don't bring a top tier deck). I have done my research and purchased/traded for cards. Now I need some advice on putting a deck put together with what I have. I don't know which proportions I should have of which cards, and which I should pick over others with similar effects (ex. Vines of Vastwood vs. Blossoming Defense). I think I have covered my basses, and have the best options for this build except for Modern staple lands and Noble Hierarchic which I'm not ready to splurge on.

The deck is simple, when Midnight Guard is enchanted with Presence of Gond, it taps/untaps to produce infinite 1/1 elf warrior tokens. If I have Soul Warden or Essence Warden in play I gain infinite life as well. If Altar of the Brood is in play, I deck my opponent. If I can't find Midnight Guard, Famished Paladin will do the same song and dance as the main combo with the stipulation of one of the Wardens in play. The casual tables at my LGS don't tend to use alot of modern staple sideboard hate, and Wraths and removal seem to be the go-to disruptors. Even then, not a terrible amount of them are used, therefore, I don't think I need a terrible amount of protection. A perfect game goes as such... 

Turn 1: Forest down and tapped for BoP
Turn 2: Land down and tapped alongside the forest and BOP for Midnight Guard
Turn Three: Land down and tapped alongside the previous two and BOP for a Altar and Presence of Gond. Tap until they are decked and I lord over them with a massive army.
(Laughing maniacally optional)