Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
JesGolbez

[M19] Core Set Spoilers

16 posts in this topic

Well, lots of spoilers today. I know Core Sets are usually blah, but a necessary evil for Competitive Magic.

vivien1.jpg.585a97b8ba5ebf7173d376418afbedcf.jpg

Vivien Reid - Probably the most boring Planeswalker printed of all time, for a variety of reasons. This looks like some intro pack BS

 

grave.png.b9286dc4b69b33439f06a7a7d4f77f76.pngdemon.png.7c6517fe08c2248638364a015a7302cc.png

Some awesome cards in black. Demon is pretty potent, especially if you have expandable tokens. Gravewalker will be a casual/EDH powerhourse.

falco.png.6b28267bf47c616a2ac48fb6356c316e.png

a 1/2 flyer at common for white...nice

skele.png.8473066d781f1a23b409bb00aa33d275.pngcommondra.png.7edd8ec0761d1f97540a1925b49ee651.pngen_CW5iJHO49W.png.de277a10adce95e511793dce6a1547a0.png

mammothy.png.032c55eb5466ed58486dff993538a1ec.pngnexus.png.15fbd8282d6a16eaea5dc9b974eb635d.pngdumbsaurus.png.d9a7429c3b8f98a4e78f0ad4bcfab44f.png

tomb.png.2a4f87a91814970614bf37b79265c812.png

 

 

Lasraik likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 6/11/2018 at 4:57 PM, Affinity for MTG said:

Ooooh, Desecrated Tomb looks spicy. :)

Question about that card: do tokens "leave" the graveyard?

Some pretty fun cards, I've missed core sets

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
8 hours ago, Lasraik said:

Question about that card: do tokens "leave" the graveyard?

Some pretty fun cards, I've missed core sets


That's a great question! Technically they do disappear, but I don't know if it counts as "leaving." I don't think there has ever been a card that triggered on cards LEAVING the graveyard so that might need to be clarified in the rule book after the set is released.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh wait, I think the answer is NO. I found this in the rule book:

"108.2. When a rule or text on a card refers to a “card,” it means only a Magic card. Most Magic games use only traditional Magic cards, which measure approximately 2.5 inches (6.3 cm) by 3.5 inches (8.8 cm). Certain formats also use nontraditional Magic cards, oversized cards that may have different backs. Tokens aren’t considered cards—even a card that represents a token isn’t considered a card for rules purposes."
 
Makes sense, they count as "a creature entering the battlefield/graveyard" but they don't count as a "creature CARD." If they wanted tokens to work, Desecrated Tomb would say "whenever a creature leaves the graveyard," however they specified "card" in the rules text so it looks like that would rule out tokens.
Lasraik likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Desecrated Tomb was designed to play with Reassembling Skeleton, Bloodghast, dredge creatures, reanimation effects, and so on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Crucible of Worlds!  Don't know if I'm more excited about it being reprinted or that they didn't put their new art spin on it. :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0