Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Pasanda

TW3 - Blood and Wine

13 posts in this topic

I completed the Witcher: Wild Hunt main game 3 years ago, with about 185 hours played. The whole experience put it up there among the top games i've experienced in my puff. Towards the end, i enjoyed it so much, i bought the Hearts of Stone expansion, which i started playing, got stuck on a hard bit (spectre in the painting), and ran out of the oomph required to see it through and stopped 3 years ago.

About 6 weeks ago i was between games and wanted to see how the game stood up to the GTX 1080 and 3440x1440. Knowing i'd be hit with the frustrating part i got stuck on, i sought advice from the great and wise Internet, which told me the obvious solution i'd missed. I played through the rest of the expansion and concluded that i wanted more. It's about 10-15 hours play for me, but i play slow. I had heard there was another expansion, and acquired Blood and Wine.

First thing to say is that the 2 cannot be compared; HoS was a new quest line, with around 20 new quests in it, BaW is a new (and large) zone. Hundreds of new (and old) characters, hundreds of new quests, a new type of add-on skills tree, and a new main story arc. I would estimate i put around 60-80 hours into this expansion - more than many AAA titles last. The story is fantastic; making me really feel for the characters, which i actually very rare for me. It also has multiple endings that are vastly different too, I'm actually playing through a second ending right now. The first had me confronting a super-vampire of the old world. This one has me dealing with magical characters from fairytales, in a fantasy landscape (currently searching for Jack's 5 beans).

With this expansion, i would say that this now tops my all time games chart. 

Also, let me just  leave this here:

https://youtu.be/UAQhYz-Db70

Edited by Pasanda