• 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Mjraid24

Legend rule

Question

Does the new iteration of the legend rule, affect only instants and sorcerys or ever legendary card  type ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

  • 0

The current legend rule reads as such:
 

Quote

704.5k. If a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player chooses one of them, and the rest are put into their owners' graveyards. This is called the “legend rule.” Only one copy of a given legendary card may be in control by a same player at the same time.


So it only applies to permanents, which would include creatures, artifacts, enchantments, and lands. It doesn't seem to apply to the Legendary spells from Dominaria, since spells on the stack aren't permanents. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Legendary spells just require you to control a planeswalker or legendary creature at the time of casting, you can't bump them off the stack with the legend rule.

From Gatherer: Other than the casting restriction, the legendary supertype on a sorcery carries no additional rules. You may cast any number of legendary sorceries in a turn, and your deck may contain any number of legendary cards (but no more than four of any with the same name).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0